If you are a nonprofit or social entrepreneur making positive social change in the Philadelphia area and beyond—we want to work with you. We work with our clients to understand the current social media landscape. We provide consulting and training in social media platforms, strategies and analytics free of charge.

The Beautiful Social Research Collaborative consists of students and faculty in the Department of Communication Studies. Students enrolled in COM 441 Social Media and Community Engagement and COM 442 Nonprofits and Community Engagement become consultants for the enterprise while studying advanced topics in social media research and applying current theories and practices in semester-long team-based projects with community partners.

A generous grant from the John Cardinal Foley Program for Media and Civic Engagement supports the collaborative and the work of three student fellows who mentor the project teams. Foley Fellows also work with prospective clients to ensure that our upcoming projects are successful.  The Fall 2016 Fellows are Victoria Lydon and Anna McCarthy.

The collaborative is directed by Bill Wolff, assistant professor in the Department of Communication Studies.


Communications Studies @ Saint Joe's

Communication Studies students acquire a solid grounding in the study of digital communications while exploring current ideas, spaces, and practices that are shaping society today, includingdigital storytelling, video composition, still photography, and social media campaigns. A hallmark of the Communication Studies curriculum is the emphasis on both theory and practice. Not only do students study what is happening at the forefront of emerging



communication technologies, they also participate. Students have access to cutting-edge resources as they make and reflect upon media and in the process they acquire important skills in creative design, authentic collaborative, and innovative entrepreneurship. The major prepares students for careers in digital media including web content strategy and design, social media/community management, and multimedia journalism. 


Victoria Lydon, Fellow

Tor is a Fellow for Beautiful Social and a senior at SJU. She's a Communications Studies major and an Art & English minor hailing from New York City. When she's not working for B:Social she's at a local concert or working for her college's radio station, Radio 1851

Screen Shot 2016-08-23 at 9.31.11 PM.png

Bill Wolff, Director

Bill is an Assistant Professor of Communication Studies and Digital Media at Saint Joseph's University. He became Director of Beautiful Social in January, 2016. Prior to joining SJU, he was an Associate Professor of Writing Arts at Rowan University. He lives in Media, PA, with his wife, Wendy, and sons, Hydan and Seeger. Though he teaches and studies digital media, he prefers vinyl, typewriters, and film photography. Find him @billwolff.


Anna McCarthy, Fellow

Anna, Student Body President of SJU's University Student Senate is also a fellow and senior. She studies Communications and Digital Media with minors in Marketing and Leadership Ethics and Organizational Sustainability. Although originally from upstate New York, she loves exploring new cities constantly in search for the best eggs Benedict.

Meet Our Consultants

Fall 2016

(from top left) Bridget Moran, Danielle Godfrey, Abbey Piro, Danielle D'Achille, Caitlyn Sottile, Boyd Huffman, Michael Farrell
Lizzie Fuller, Emily Bogansky, Dana Mangrelli
Kelly Smith, Sophie Werner, Marie LeVie, Anne McCarthy (Fellow), Tor Lydon (Fellow), Charlie Coghlin
Meg Doherty, Alex Catanzariti, Carly Montecalvo, Gabe Angeles, Elena Zecchino, Caitlin Gillard, Becky Hartman